h1

The One Sentence Character Motivator

September 6, 2007

I want to know/find/prove to myself (abstract/emotional thing) by (doing something concrete).

Examples
I want to prove to myself that I am truly brave by facing the dragon which is endangering the land.
I want to know if I am worth loving by pushing others away.
I want to find redemption by saving the life of my worst enemy.
I want to find a way to hide my shame by becoming the greatest conqueror in the land.

What’s kind of neat is that this is a sort of like a boating accident between Primetime Adventure’s Issues and Burning Wheel’s Beliefs (or Riddle of Steel’s Spiritual Attributes). You have a general thing tied to a concrete thing which gives us both an angle on your character as well as a solid story hook to work with.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

