h1

Why I don’t play your game

March 13, 2008

Naamen’s experience of Grimspace is pretty much parallel to a lot of my issues with the media of roleplaying games and racism. As I recently tried to explain on a few threads, it’s a double whammy- the basic ugly in my escapism, added to a culture that defends it.

This has been something I’ve been dealing with for the last few years, really. I found myself pulling further and further from communities and online groups. “We’re cool as long as we don’t talk about -that- topic” is not much different than the broken game group or “Don’t ask, don’t tell” in the military.

At the end of the day, though, I guess people will be who they will be, no matter what you do.

The question is, are these the people you want to hang out with?

