h1

The fullness of being human

March 22, 2008

So when I started this blog, I was thinking it would be more personal than the last one.

Sadly, my online-ness has mostly been trapped in Forge Etiquette: “Games are Serious Business”. But this isn’t the Forge. I’m not trying to communicate in a way to best dialogue in the face of internet cockboxing.

I think over the last 2 or 3 years, there has been brief flashes of really good comments in the community about the role of being artists or creators- to whom you owe responsibility. For example, owing responsibility to your own expression, to the people who you respect and value their input, and not so much to Random Internet Dude, whether he be Indie Hipster Gamer or Gnarled Grognard Gamer.

So, my blog, this blog, is going to fall in line with that. I’m still going to talk mostly about games, or things that influence or impact gaming for me, and not, like whether I’m dating someone, or if I got new shoes.

A big part of my creative community with whom I choose boundaries is the anti-oppression movements- anti-racism, anti-sexism, anti-heterosexism. This isn’t intellectual liberal “gimme a cookie” leftism to be hip. Every one of my friends and family have emotional and/or physical scars because of the above, and remaining silent is equivalent to assent to their death, be it slow or fast.

And that ties into gaming because it is a form of media, and all media inform one way or another on those issues (including silence).  This is probably where I’ve been looking at things differently from the beginning- texts of roleplaying games are mass media.  Public internet communication is mass media.   We are participating in it, and do you have the privilege to NOT think about your messages?

So I am thinking about mine.  If you find that preachy or strange, I will give you the words given to me whether talking about my communities, my hobby, or even my country- “If you don’t like it, leave.”

I’ve been talking to the wrong audience for a long time.  It’s time for a change.

