h1

April geekdoms

April 27, 2008

My good friend Naamen loaned me the brilliant and beautiful Orphan’s Tales, which moved me many times whle reading both volumes, which I was stuck on deeply. I have yet to read any of the Imaro books, but Dossouye is something a few folks I know have been waiting years to see, so I might have to check that out soon.

In a few weeks, we should finally coordinate for the Artesia game we’ve been wanting to play. I’m also expecting some more playtesting of The Emperor’s Heart, as well as possibly a Skype game using the Orcs & Ogres playtest rules.

I saw The Forbidden Kingdom, which was mildly entertaining. I put it about the same level as Mortal Kombat… Homagery was cute, but I was irritated with the “romance for the sake of asian fetish” and the really, really bad dialogue (there is an acceptable level of bad dialogue for action movies… beyond that…).

Avatar the Last Airbender continues to be incredibly awesome, though I think it’s interesting the way in which folks code the characters as white. I’m busy writing a piece on anime, manga, and coding called “Why are they all white?” for the 9th POC S/F blog carnival. I may post that up here later tonight.

Leave a Reply

