h1

Where our voices go

April 27, 2008

For many months now I’ve been reconsidering what I want my blog to be, who I consider my community to be, and for whom I’m writing.

This month, two powerful writers, BrownFemiPower and Blackamazon have both decided to remove their blogs and disengage from the toxic online atmosphere. I completely get it. Disengagement is not defeat. And there is a limit to how much hate you can take, whether we’re talking endless racist/sexist bullshit, plagiarism or straight up death threats.

Their fearless, tireless, and brilliant efforts have kicked me in the face (in a good way) many times, and I realize this: Speaking half of the story is no story at all.

4 comments

  1. Chris, I love your blog. It kicks me in the face, and I need that so much. Thanks for sticking with it in the face of the badness.


  2. Yeah, I totally love what you’re doing – and that should be your focus. Write about what you love. The readers will come.


  3. I haven’t been following your blog for very long, and I’ve had a lot else on my mind lately than blog-reading, but its amazing to me the sheer range that bullshit has. I just don’t understand why anyone would want to give anyone crap about the way the play a game. Unless they’re in you’re group, in which case you might have to talk about social contract or something, but a stranger? That’s incredible. Don’t people have something better to do?


  4. Maybe you should google BrownFemiPower or Blackamazon. This post isn’t about what you think it is.



Leave a Reply

