h1

Oh Licenses…

June 21, 2008

One of my favorite American manga series, Bizenghast, now has it’s own rpg.

Unfortunately, the description makes me think that this is probably going to be just another “rules light license game” that really doesn’t do much to support the setting/genre (see also: Lord of the Rings, Buffy, Hellboy, Battlestar Galactica, Dragonball Z, Lain, etc.) This feeling isn’t helped by the “feature” that the cosmology of the setting will be explained- I want rules that help me make creepy shit I don’t understand, not the full understanding of it to rob it of it’s mystery.

Until I actually get to flip through a copy, I’ll reserve my full judgement, though it’s sort of a thing you pick up after you’ve seen enough heartbreakers. The general gamer mentality that rules don’t matter, just include enough setting and let them fix the rest has pretty much poisoned most license design.

I’m hoping Luke’s Mouse Guard will open some eyes to applying better design to license games, but we’ll see.

Leave a Reply

