h1

WonderCon

April 5, 2010

It’s been about 2 years since I’ve been to WonderCon. The last time, I remember it was mostly media fandom stuff, retail stuff, cheap comic bins, and a small, small, artist’s alley. I was pretty surprised to see how much more space they had this year, and how much was dedicated to indie artists- there was something like 4 whole roles of indie artist stuff.

I put in some support for Gunnerkrigg Court, Lackadaisy Cats, Tea Club, Templar Arizona (I didn’t realize the author was a woman of color! YAY!), and The Racebending booth.

I picked up a couple of sketchbooks- I totally didn’t realize Satine Phoenix was one of the folks doing I Hit It With My Axe (which, I haven’t even had a chance to look at yet. She’s got a pretty dope art style, and I’m hoping she goes ahead with doing a webcomic sometime in the future.

My only sadness with WonderCon is how gaming is pretty much limited to either videogames being demo’ed or CCG tournaments. At the same time, WonderCon is very well focused on media and comics, and doesn’t need to try to be all things to all people.

All in all, a damn good time.

Leave a Reply

