h1

Exploiting NDNs, RPG version, part 2082

March 14, 2015

Danielle Miller at lastrealindians.com writes about Monte Cook’s The Strange:

Most recent offense by Monte Cook most notable for Dungeons and Dragons released a RPG called “The Strange” (way to dehumanize and otherize Indigenous Peoples with the title in itself). The game also included many culture inaccuracies that mold plains Natives with Pacific Northwest Tribes into one false culture. The game plays into various stereotypes, Natives dancing around a fire, medicine men and every other stereotype of noble savage projections one can think of.
….
When Natives reached out to Monte Cook for dialogue on the issue, they have responded by blocking anyone who questions their RPG.

I remember years ago. an indie rpg designer asked me “How to do a game on NDN culture that was respectful?” and I was like, “Why don’t you GO ASK THEM?”.  There was a whole lot of resistance to that idea.  It’s very telling when non-native folks want to make games (at a profit) where they get to “pretend to be NDN” but don’t actually want to interact with real living people.

In so many ways, I’m coming to the conclusion that “What if I get it wrong?” is really “How can I do this and never hear from POC about what I had to say about them?”

If you find my blog entertaining and valuable, consider supporting me on Patreon.

